The Equality Act 2010 and Equality Delivery System

The Equality Act became law in October 2010. This replaces all previous anti discrimination legislation. The Act has a public sector equality duty which came into law on 10th September 2011.

General Equality Duties

  • Eliminate unlawful discrimination, harassment and victimisation and other conduct that is prohibited by the Act.
  • Advance equality of opportunity between people who share a characteristic and those who don't.
  • Foster good relations between people who share a characteristic and those who don't.

Public Sector Equality Duties

  • Prepare and publish equality objectives by 6th April 2012, and at least every four years after that.
  • Ensure the the objectives are specific and measurable, and set out how progress towards the objectives will be measured.
  • Publish details of their engagement in developing the equality objectives also at least every four years.
  • Publish equality information before 31st January 2012 here
  • Publish the objectives in a reasonably accessible format either as an individual document or as part of another report

In order to comply with Equality Legislation prior to The Equality Act becoming law Mersey Care NHS Trust has in place a Single Equality and Human Rights Scheme 2010 - 2013 which contains a corporate action plan.  This Action Plan and related local Action plans will remain in place across the Trust whilst it makes the transition to publishing its equality objectives.

Aims of Equality Objectives

  • Encourage an outcome -focused approach to setting challenging but measurable targets as a service provider and employer.
  • To demonstrate to service users and staff that a public body is taking practical action on the major equality issues.
  • Assist in building the duty into an organistion's planning processes, in prioritising resources.
  • Improve the awareness of the senior leadership and staff about the duty.

Equality Delivery System

   This is a NHS benchmarking system designed to support both the Equality Act requirements for  public body and  Care Quality Assurance. It has 4 outcomes on which an organisation is required to meet using a grading system and the production of evidence to demonstrate the level of grading. The grading system has four levels:

  • Excelling
  • Achieving
  • Developing
  • Undeveloped

   The four outcomes on which the organisation will be measured are:

  • Better health outcomes for all.
  • Improved patient access and experience.
  • Empowered, engaged and included staff.
  • Inclusive leadership

   More information and guidance around the Equality Act and Equality Delivery System can be accessed   below.




Equality Information report by Mersey Care

 Other publications:

   The Equality Delivery System for the NHS

   The Equality Delivery System Grades Manual 2011

      Implementing the Equality Act

·          Further information sites

          Return to Equality Diversity and Human Rights Main Page